In Google Docs, when you want to send a document for others to see or edit, you don’t need to email an attachment or upload a file for others to access. Instead, you can share one online version of your document and specify who has permission to make changes and who has permission only to view.
Many people can access a Google Doc at the same time, just like many people can look at the same webpage or the same photo shared online. With everyone seeing the same thing, at the same time, you can start collaborating in real-time. Sharing documents online makes it easier for groups to work together, wherever they are.
Google Docs lets you know who else is looking at the document and exactly where they are making changes.
You can also start a discussion with others in the document using the built-in chat feature.
With Google Docs you have 2 types of settings for making your document available to others which we will review in the next steps:
Visibility settings: how people can access your document
Sharing settings: who can make changes or only view the document